He is Collegiate Professor of Periodontics, Professor and Director of Graduate Periodontics at the University of Michigan.

Dr. Wang received his DDS from Taipei Medical College, Taipei, Taiwan, DDS, MSD from Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, Ohio and PhD from Hiroshima University, Japan.
He published more than 30 book chapters/invited reviews and more than 480 scientific articles.

Dr. Wang currently serves as a member of Scientific Oversight Committee and Continuing Education Oversight Committee for the American Academy of Periodontology (AAP), JOMI Oversight Committee for the Academy of Osseointegration (AO) and is a Board of Director for the AO.

Dr. Wang is a Diplomate and a Former Chair and Director of the American Board of Periodontology, a Fellow of American College of Dentists as well as a Fellow of AO, and is a Diplomate and Former President and Board Director of the ICOI.

He serves as an Associate Editor for The International Journal of Oral & Maxillofacial Implants, Periodontology, Oral Surgery, Esthetic & Implant Dentistry Organization, eJournal of Oral & Maxillofacial Research, and Founding Editorial board member for Clinical Advances in Periodontics, Editorial Board member for the Journal of Periodontology, Clinical Oral Implants Research, International Journal of Periodontics & Restorative Dentistry, Journal of Clinical Periodontology, Compendium of Continuing Education in Dentistry and many others.

Dr. Wang is the recipient of following awards/honors: AADS clinical research fellowship award (1992), University of Michigan Outstanding Service Award (2001), Best Faculty Award (2003), The Charles E. English Annual Award in Clinical Science and Techniques (2004), Best papers in Journal of Oral Implantology (2004) and Implant Dentistry (2004), Morton L. Perel Annual Award for Dental Implant Educator (2007), AAP University of Michigan Outstanding Teaching and Mentoring in Periodontics (2010), AAP special citation award (2013), ITI Andre Schroeder Research Prize (2014), AO Osseointegration Foundation Clinical Research Recipient (2016), AAP Outstanding Educator Award (2017) and AAP Distinguished Scientist Award (2017).

View the Faculty of Lake Como Institute